I Desrve It!!


“I work hard everyday,  I deserve a vacation.” “Get it, you deserve it.” “I deserve respect!” …..

The list could go on and on and on, but the point is, you probably heard, thought, or even said one of the above at least one, if not several time, in your life, I know I did, I mean, we are bombarded by this line of thinking pretty much every day (especially if you own a TV), but God, in is amazing mercy and grace, showed me something a bit different, He showed me what I truly deserve, do you know what it is? Take a guess… If you said His wrath and the punishment of eternal hell, you got it, if not, just email me and we’ll talk ;)

The Bible says in Romans 3: 10-18

“THERE IS NONE RIGHTEOUS, NOT EVEN ONE;
11THERE IS NONE WHO UNDERSTANDS,
THERE IS NONE WHO SEEKS FOR GOD;
12ALL HAVE TURNED ASIDE, TOGETHER THEY HAVE BECOME USELESS;
THERE IS NONE WHO DOES GOOD,
THERE IS NOT EVEN ONE.”
13“THEIR THROAT IS AN OPEN GRAVE,
WITH THEIR TONGUES THEY KEEP DECEIVING,”
“THE POISON OF ASPS IS UNDER THEIR LIPS”;
14“WHOSE MOUTH IS FULL OF CURSING AND BITTERNESS”;
15“THEIR FEET ARE SWIFT TO SHED BLOOD,
16DESTRUCTION AND MISERY ARE IN THEIR PATHS,
17AND THE PATH OF PEACE THEY HAVE NOT KNOWN.”
18“THERE IS NO FEAR OF GOD BEFORE THEIR EYES.”

This points out the human nature apart from God. But God, in is undeserved mercy, has chosen  me (as well as many others) to spend eternity gazing into His holiness. What more can I ask for? What else beside the shed blood of Jesus who died on the cross for my (and many others) sins and was raised so He would gather a people for Himself and saves us from the wrath of the holy one and eternal separation from Him, could I ever ask for? When all I deserve is His just punishment.

So here is what I deserve; I deserve for God to send my into the lake of fire, which is the second death (Revelation 20:11-15, 21:8) but the Holy One sent His only Son, Jesus Christ to die for my (and many others) sins and on the third day, raised Him up in accordance to the Scriptures (1 Corinthians 15:3-4). So I ask again, what more can I ask for? What more, besides that God help me make my life  centered on the Gospel and serve Him daily and for eternity?

Author: Renee-Claude Tanguay

I Have Been Seized by the Power of a Great Affection

2 thoughts on “I Desrve It!!”

  1. Romans is my favorite book because of how it lays out our problem of sin, God’s ultimate solution, and our opportunity to live in it.

    God’s mercy is more than we could ask for…it is more than we deserve. So true, Renee!

    Like

Leave a Reply

